Prayer Focus: Nigeria

Bible Reading: Zechariah 8-14

Scripture:

 “Thus says the Lord of hosts, ‘I am exceedingly jealous for Zion, yes, with great wrath I am jealous for her.’ Thus says the Lord of hosts, ‘Behold, I am going to save My people from the land of the east and from the land of the west; and I will bring them back and they will live in the midst of Jerusalem; and they shall be My people, and I will be their God in truth and righteousness.’ (Zechariah 8:2, 7-8)

Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion! Shout in triumph, O daughter of Jerusalem! Behold, your king is coming to you; He is just and endowed with salvation, Humble, and mounted on a donkey, Even on a colt, the foal of a donkey. (Zechariah 9:9)

And the Lord will be king over all the earth; in that day the Lord will be the only one, and His name the only one. (Zechariah 14:9)

Observation:

The name of the book almost says it all. Zechariah means “God Remembers.” He’s the son of Berechiah, which means “God Blesses”, and his grandfather’s name is Iddo, which is “At the Appointed Time.” When I read this, I hear Dave Crowder in my head –

“He is jealous for me. Loves like a hurricane, I am a tree, bending beneath the weight of His wind and mercy. When all of a sudden, I am unaware of these afflictions eclipsed by glory, and I realize just how beautiful You are and how great Your affections are for me.”

 Here, Zechariah’s words signify the turning of God’s wrath from Israel to the surrounding nations who have held her in captivity. It foretells of the Messiah’s triumphal entry into Jerusalem, and hints at the Last Days, when the Lord will rule over the whole earth.  So I want to join with Dave Crowder and sing

“And Oh, How He loves us, oh,
Oh how He loves us,
How He loves us all”

Application:

There is hope here in these words. No matter how many times we fall down, God is willing to restore us, just as He restored Israel. He stands ready to bring us back to Himself. We are His children. He paid a heavy price to do so – the death of His Son. I was reading from a book on the Holy Spirit and a comment stood out to me. The author was referencing Galatians 3:13-14 “Christ redeemed us from the curse of the law by becoming a curse for us. . . . so that we might receive the promised Spirit through faith.” He went on to say – ‘Jesus suffered a grueling death so that we could have the amazing gift of the HolySpirit.’ The same Spirit that confirms our position as Children of God. The same Spirit that gives us the power to say no to ungodliness and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age.  May we not take this gift for granted. May we reflect on the devotionals for this week – How is our Temple? How well do we follow His simple commands? How well do we Love? How well do we listen, then obey, the Spirit’s voice?

Prayer:

Father, Abba, help us to recognize Your voice, to listen to Your Spirit, to love as You love. Help us to not take for granted the many ways in which you bless us. help us to recognize Your presence and rejoice in it.  Father, we are Your portion, and You are our prize. Help us to run the race well, for Your name sake and the building up of Your kingdom. Amen.

