Prayer Focus: Puerto Rico

Bible Reading: John 3-5

Scripture

He must become greater; I must become less. (John 3:30)

Observation

There are many riveting verses in today’s reading (John 3:16 comes to mind!). This short verse, however, describes the posture of John the Baptist, a man with tremendous influence and many followers. The New Living Translation says in the verse prior (3:29), “I am filled with joy at His success.” What an attitude!

Application

Oh that I would have such an attitude. My flesh screams for more attention, approval, and praise. I want people to notice me, love me, and want to be with me. John certainly had the right idea, recognizing that he needed to die so Jesus could live in and through his life. That’s what I truly want for my life, too. As an old song by Mylon LeFevre says, “More of Jesus, less of me.” That’s the path to true greatness.

Prayer

LORD, there is too much of me in my life! I want my true prayer to be for You to become greater and for me to become less. I want everything in my life to bring You glory. In Jesus’ Name, amen.

