Prayer Focus: Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome & Principe

Bible Reading: Matthew 16; Mark 8:11-9:1; Luke 9:18-27

Scripture:

15 He *said to them, “But who do you say that I am?” 16 Simon Peter answered, “You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.” 17 And Jesus said to him, “Blessed are you, Simon Barjona, because flesh and blood did not reveal this to you, but My Father who is in heaven. (Matt 16:15-17

Observation:

There are so many places to go with this verse. Let me first start with a non-sequitur – 42. This is the 42nd week of Scripture references, of particular interest to me as I turned 42 this year. Please forgive my inner geekiness as I reference Douglas Adams – the meaning of life, the universe and everything. He has said it was a joke, but there have been books written on the multiple references to the number 42 in literature, history, and popular culture. So much effort, even in jest, to find the answer to everything. Here we see Peter knew the answer and it isn’t a number, its a person. What I love about this particular passage is that there are no secrets, no hidden meanings to decipher, no tests or trick questions, like the Pharisees are throwing at Jesus. And Peter’s response – revealed to him by God. Simple. . and yet profound.

Application:

So what do we do with this simple truth? What do you believe about Jesus? He is the Christ, Son of the Living God. That Truth changes us. At least it ought to. The problem is that we don’t let it change us enough. Partly because it can be painful, and complicated, and uncomfortable and partly because we make it more complicated than it need be. I don’t think we ask ourselves enough  – I know I don’t – where am I today with God? What am I doing with this Truth? Who am I sharing it with? How am I being changed by it? Is it changing how I live my life, what I choose, how I react to others? Am I, the church, an unstoppable force, making my corner of the world a better place? If not, then I must be doing it wrong.

Prayer:

Father I thank you for the Truth you revealed to Peter. The Truth you still reveal to people today. I thank you for the opportunity to be a part of that Truth.  Please show me how to love you more, how to walk closer with you. Thank you for loving me enough to not leave me as I am. Help me to be more like you. Help me to hear your voice and respond. Amen.

