Prayer Focus: South Africa

Bible Reading: Matthew 24-25; Mark 13; Luke 21:5-38

Scripture

So you also must be ready, because the Son of Man will come at an hour when you do not expect him. (Matthew 24:44)

“No one knows about that day or hour, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father. Be on guard! Be alert! You do not know when that time will come. (Mark 13:32-33)

Be always on the watch, and pray that you may be able to escape all that is about to happen, and that you may be able to stand before the Son of Man.”(Luke 21:36)

Observation

It matters not if you are reading Matthew, Mark or Luke, the message is the same: be ready! Christ visited our planet for 33 years and He promised to return. He is not slow in keeping His promises as some understand slowness to be (honestly, I think 2000+ years is slow, too, but then again, compared to eternity…). This account also tells us clearly that we will not know when (and should not announce predictions to the world!). We simply must be ready…always.

Application

Are you ready for His return? It could be today. The only thing I am certain of with regard to His timing is that we are one day closer to His return today than we were yesterday!

A story is told of a man who was asked, “If you knew tomorrow was your last day on this earth, how would you spend it?” He replied, “I’d plant apple trees.” Shocked, the person asked, “Why would you use your final hours planting apple trees?” to which the man replied, “I try to live every day like it is my last. I plan on planting apple trees tomorrow so why would I change anything?”

Prayer

LORD, I’m ready for Your return. I want to be ready always. Maranatha! Come quickly, LORD Jesus! I want to always be ready for Your return…and also for whatever assignments You give me until Your return. In Your Name, amen.

