Prayer Focus: Sri Lanka

Bible Reading: Matthew 27:1-31; Mark 15:1-20; Luke 23:1-25; John 18:28-19:16

Scripture

It was the day of Preparation of Passover Week, about the sixth hour.

“Here is your king,” Pilate said to the Jews.

But they shouted, “Take him away! Take him away! Crucify him!”

“Shall I crucify your king?” Pilate asked.

“We have no king but Caesar,” the chief priests answered. (John 19:14-15)

Observation

Jesus’ origin was a mystery to many. His identity was controversial. Some called Him king, while others mocked such an assertion. The people were anxiously awaiting a Messiah, a king that would overthrow Rome. Jesus was the former, but the latter will occur when Christ returns.

Application

On the eve of our presidential election when we select a man to lead our nation, it is fitting to contrast Jesus’ campaign with that of Obama and Romney. Jesus had no marketing campaign. He had no manager. His most devoted followers denied, betrayed, and failed Him at His greatest hour of need in the garden. Yet He remains the most influential Person to ever walk the face of this earth. Hallelujah! What a Savior!

Prayer

King Jesus, I want to acknowledge You not only as my Savior, Healer, and Sanctified but also my Coming King. I long for Your return, Your rule, Your reign…forever. Maranatha…come quickly LORD, Jesus! Thank You for enduring the cross, for proving Your love, for conquering sin and death, and for being my King! I want to submit everything in my life to Your rule and reign. In Your Name, amen.

