Prayer Focus: Syria

Bible Reading: Galatians 1-3

Scripture

Am I now trying to win the approval of men, or of God? Or am I trying to please men? If I were still trying to please men, I would not be a servant of Christ.  (Galatians 1:10 )

Observation

Paul recognizes the contrast between men and God. Like money and God (Matt. 6:24, Luke 16:13), we cannot serve both. Each day we make choices that declare who or what we worship. The first two of the Ten Commandments may be the most difficult to truly obey in a world full of wealth, opportunity, temptations, and distractions.

Application

Are you a people pleaser or a God pleaser? “It is better to be marked by God than marketed by man.” -Christine Caine

Prayer

LORD, I am constantly tempted to be a people pleasure, yet I truly want to glorify You—always. Forgive me for seeking the applause of men rather than You and Your will. Thank You for the reminder to always serve an audience of One. In Jesus’ Name, amen.

Bonus

For old-school Christian music fans, check out this Petra song, Godpleaser (it’s at the 18:18 mark).

