Prayer Focus: Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago

Bible Reading: 1 Corinthians 1-4

Scripture:
4 I thank my God always concerning you for the grace of God which was given you in Christ Jesus,5 that in everything you were enriched in Him, in all speech and all knowledge,
25 Because the foolishness of God is wiser than men, and the weakness of God is stronger than men. (1 Corinthians 1:4-5, 25)

12 Now we have received, not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit who is from God, so that we may know the things freely given to us by God,
16 For who has known the mind of the Lord, that he will instruct Him? But we have the mind of Christ. (1 Corinthians 2:12, 16)

Observation:
On this Thanksgiving day, I would be remiss in not acknowledging, with Paul,  thanks to my brothers and sisters in Christ for your steadfastness and encouragement. I do indeed thank God for you, and also for the wisdom and grace poured out on you from our Lord Jesus Christ. Now, on to today’s observations.

Paul’s message to the Corinthians is an urge to unity – to end the divisions that were surfacing within the church, and to remind them that they are all on the same footing -i.e. servants, only saved because of the work of the cross. They are to be about the building process, building the kingdom, building up the body, and building their own lives, growing daily in knowledge and grace.

Application:
True wisdom comes from God. He tells us we need it, Solomon was rewarded for asking for it, and Paul states that even the foolishness of God is better than the best wisdom that man can come up with, so why do we persist in doing things our way? Are God’s ways higher than our ways? Sure, Scripture tells us that too. But the encouragement here is that, while man alone cannot know the mind of God. . . as sons and daughters, we have been given the mind of Christ – Christ who by His every action and spoken word, revealed the Father to the hearts of men. God has freely given to us all that we need to know Him – to understand Him. His Spirit – which Paul exhorts the Corinthians to rely on – will reveal Truth to us, as we ask for it. May it be as He has said.

Prayer:

Father, I am so quick to speak, to react, and yes, even to judge. I rush in when I ought to slow down and I slow down when I ought to rush in . . . because too often I walk in my own strength. Help me to rest in You – not to be motionless, but to be confident. Confident that you speak, and confident in my ability to hear Your voice. Grant me wisdom to know when to act and when to love. As the hymn writer wrote, May the mind of Christ my Saviour live in me from day to day, by His love and power controlling, all I do and say. Amen.

