Prayer Focus: Turks & Caicos Is, Tuvalu

Bible Reading: 2 Corinthians 1-4

Scripture

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God. For just as the sufferings of Christ flow over into our lives, so also through Christ our comfort overflows.

We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed. We always carry around in our body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be revealed in our body. (2 Corinthians 1:3-5; 4:8-10)

Observation

Life is hard…but God is good. He is compassionate. He is our comfort. Jesus understands suffering and grief and pain and even death. The celebration of this season is the incarnation—He became one of us.

Application

I write this sitting in the waiting room of a hospital as our daughter is treated for chronic pain. Few things are more agonizing than a suffering child. Today’s passage reminds me that God is with me. He understands. As I am comforted, I can comfort others. There are other children here in far more dire straits. I am truly blessed…and I want to be a blessing to others. We serve a Master that did not delegate, but took suffering and pain and death upon Himself in order to offer us the Way, the Truth, and the Life. Hallelujah!

Prayer

Jesus, thank You for becoming one of us. Thank You for leaving the comforts of heaven in order to comfort us. I continue to be overwhelmed by Your love, grace and mercy. I am so blessed. Show me how I can be a blessing to others. In Your precious and powerful Name, amen.

